MiAW 2023 Events

Angelo Castagnola, Full Professor of Insolvency Law – Università degli Studi, Milan
Mauro Rubino-Sammartano, Chartered Arbitrator, President – European Court of Arbitration
Albert Henke, Associate Professor of Civil Procedure – Università degli Studi, Milan

Conference on
Il percorso della Riforma Cartabia
(The Path to the Cartabia Reform)
(in Italian)

Filippo Danovi, Full Professor of Civil Procedure at the State University of Milan Bicocca

(Further possible evolution of Arbitration Law)

(in Italian)

Organized by Comitato Italiano Arbitrato


Carmine Punzi, Emeritus Professor of the University “La Sapienza” of Rome

Mauro Rubino-Sammartano, Chartered Arbitrator, President – European Court of Arbitration



15:00 - 16:00 (on line)

(in English)

Federico Antich, Co-Chair IBA Mediation Committee, President of the Centre of Mediation
for Europe, the Mediterranean, Middle East

A Chat with the Winners of the 30th Edition of the
Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

The University of Vienna’s Coaches and Team  

15:00-16:30 (on line)


• WIPO Mediation Pledge for IP and Technology Disputes
Leandro Toscano | Head, Business Development Unit | WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center

• CPR’s Dispute Prevention Pledge for Business Relationships
Ellen Waldman, Vice President, Advocacy & Educational, CPR Dispute Resolution

Federico Ortino, Associate Director of Centre for International Governance
and Dispute Resolution (CIGAD), and Professor of International Economic Law at
The Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College London,

Andrea Rusca LLM, Founding Partner at ISA-Lex Avocats (Geneva)

15:00-17:00 (on line)

Nikos Lavranos, Guest Professor of International Investment Law,
Free University of Brussels, Belgium

Secretary General of the European Federation for Investment Law and Arbitration (EFILA)

Frankfurt Investment Pre-Moot Conference

organized by DLA Piper, Milan
(in English)

Maria Chiara Malaguti President of Unidroit and Full Professor of International law at
Università Cattolica Sacro Cuore (Key note Speaker)

Crina Baltag Associate Professor in International Arbitration at Stockholm University

Marina Matousekova International Arbitration Lawyer
Partner at TALMA Dispute Resolution (Paris)

Irene Petrelli Partner, Curtis, Mallet-Prevost (Milan)

14:00 - 19:00 (on line)

University of Vienna, Austria

Queen Mary University of London, UK

in cooperation with


Renowned Italian and foreign experts from academia, legal profession will address from different angles some of the most relevant topics related to the field. In addition, MIAW will include two legal competitions: the third edition of the Milan Investment Arbitration Pre-Moot  with the participation of several Universities from all around the world.

Milan Arbitration Week

22-28 May 2023

Free-of-charge Live Webinars


Scroll to Top

Wednesday 24 May 2023

• Equal Representation for Expert Witnesses Pledge
Isabel Kunsman, Partner Alix & Partners, Washington

• European Court of Arbitrator’s Pledge
Dr. Antonios Tsavdaridis, Secretary General of the European Court of Arbitration
and Partner at Rokas (Athens)

• The Green Pledge
Stefano Catelani, Partner Calimala Legal (Italy)

18:00-19:00 (on-line)

Book presentation on
International Construction Arbitration Handbook
2023, John W Hinchey and Troy L. Harris

Troy L. Harris, Adjunct professor of law at Emory Law School in Atlanta,
Co-chair of the International Litigation Subcommittee of the Commercial and
Business Litigation Committee of the American Bar Association

Thursday 25 May 2023

Veronika Korom, President of the Hungarian Arbitration Association,
Partner, Queritius (Paris), Assistant Professor (ESSEC Business School, France)

Josè Àngel Rueda Garcia, Partner Cuatrecasas (Madrid)

Friday 26 May 2023
9:00 -12.00

Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
Tashkent State University of Law (TSUL), Uzbekistan
University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Università degli Studi di Trento, Italy
Zimbabwe Ezekiel Guti University, Zimbabwe
Higher School of Economics, Russia

At 19:00 Cokctail Reception offered by
DLA Piper, Milan on their Rooftop.

Ellen Waldman

In the area of dispute resolution, she writes, trains, consults and mediates in a broad range of cases, including end-of-life in the health –care context. Former chair of the International Mediation Institute’s ethics committee, and task-force member for the California judicial council’s working-group on training requirements for court-connected mediators, Waldman has been deeply involved in policy questions relating to the qualification and ethics training of mediators. She has published more than 25 articles on numerous dispute resolution topics and crafted the first book-length treatment of ethical dilemmas in mediation, entitled Mediation Ethics: Cases and Commentaries.

Veronika Korom

Dr Veronika Korom is an Assistant Professor for international business law and arbitration at ESSEC Business School in Paris and an independent counsel and arbitrator admitted to practice in France, England & Wales and Hungary. Veronika acts as the President of the Hungarian Arbitration Association, sits on the Board of the Vienna International Arbitral Centre (VIAC), and is a member of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR. Veronika has practiced international commercial and investment arbitration for over 13 years including at major international firms in London and Paris and has gained particular experience in investment arbitrations involving Member States of the European Union and questions of EU law, in various types of annulment and setting-aside proceedings, as well as in domestic enforcement proceedings and proceedings before the Courts of the European Union.

Josè Àngel Rueda Garcia

Dr. José Ángel Rueda-García is a Partner at Cuatrecasas, Gonçalves Pereira, LLP in Madrid, where he has been practicing investment arbitration, international commercial arbitration and international litigation since 2013. Prior to that he worked at Uría Menéndez in Madrid as an associate (2010-2012). He is also chairman of the Advisory Board of EFILA since 2022.

He has authored a number of publications on international arbitration and international investment law. He also teaches courses on international commercial arbitration and international investment law at ICADE-Universidad Pontificia Comillas in Madrid.

Education: Doctor en Derecho (Ph.D in Law), University of Alcalá (2009, summa cum laude); Grado de Salamanca in Law, University of Salamanca (2006, with honours); Licenciado en Derecho (MA in Law), University of Salamanca (2004).